No-Confidence motion approved against deputy speaker Eva Abdulla


The parliamentary group of the MDP has given its approval for the submission of no-confidence motion against Deputy Speaker Eva Abdulla to the Parliament. The party’s parliamentary group leader , Mohamed Aslam, announced on Thursday that the motion, which seeks a vote on Eva’s confidence, was unanimously supported by the parliamentary group.Once the necessary formalities are completed, the motion will be presented to the Parliament without delay.

On Wednesday, Eva, along with 11 other MPs from Mohamed Nasheed’s ‘Fikuregge Dhirun’ faction within the party, decided to leave the MDP. This development prompted MPs loyal to President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih to swiftly initiate efforts to remove Eva from her position as Deputy Speaker.

According to parliamentary regulations, a majority vote from the entire Parliament is required to dismiss the Speaker or Deputy Speaker.During a press conference on Wednesday, Eva clarified that her decision to remain with the MDP was not driven by a desire to protect her position, but rather her refusal to resign voluntarily.