Rift Within MDP Deepens as Nasheed’s Loyalists Resign from Party


Several members of the Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) aligned with party President Mohamed Nasheed have resigned from the party, according to an official statement from MDP spokesperson Anas Abdul Sattar. The resignations come amid a growing rift within the party, which has been fueled by Nasheed’s defeat in the MDP’s presidential primary against incumbent President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih.

Nasheed has since been leading an anti-government movement within the MDP, which has caused significant fractures among party ranks. This rift has been growing over the past few weeks, culminating in the recent departures of 12 MDP MPs, the party’s Deputy President, Mohamed Shifaz, and former STO Managing Director Hussain Amr.

The MPs who have left the party are Ibrahim Rasheed (Bonde), Mohamed Rasheed (Boadhigu), Ahmed Zahir (Gadhdhoo), Mohamed Waheed (Wadde), Hassan Latheef, Eve Abdulla, Ilyas Labeeb, Imthiyaz Fahmy, Yasir Abdul Latheef, Hassan Afeef, Hussain Firushan, and Hassan Shiyan.

The departure of Nasheed’s loyalists coincided with the MDP’s action committee expelling Henveiru Central MP Ali Azim from the party due to repeated violations of the party’s charters. However, Nasheed himself has not left the party at this time.

Nasheed’s Fikurehge Dhirun movement has scheduled a special press conference at 5:00 pm today, which is expected to address the recent resignations and the ongoing rift within the party. The departures of Nasheed’s loyalists could have significant implications for the MDP and the political landscape of the Maldives.